If you have a driver’s license and own a vehicle, there is always a risk that you will become involved in a collision. This is true even if you are not actively using your vehicle. For example, it may be damaged even when it’s parked. This is why you must purchase auto insurance. Not only is it a legal obligation, but it can prevent you from needing to pay the huge amount of expenses that can arise from a catastrophic car accident, which can often amount to hundreds of thousands of dollars.
If you have been in a car accident in Michigan recently or you are worried that you do not have the adequate insurance coverage, you should first take the time to understand Michigan’s auto insurance laws.
What type of auto insurance am I legally obligated to purchase?
In Michigan, state law requires that you purchase no-fault automobile insurance. This means that your insurance company will cover all the costs that you experience, regardless of which party was at fault for the accident.
What are the consequences of not having valid insurance?
If your car is used without basic no-fault insurance, you will not be insured if you get involved in an accident. This means that you will have to cover all medical bills, all damages to the vehicle, and you will receive no amount of damages for the pain and suffering caused and the wages lost. Even if you are not involved in an accident, you could be fined between $200 and $500 and convicted of a misdemeanor. You may even have your license suspended until you can show that you have valid insurance.
What types of damages can I claim if I am involved in an accident?
If you are involved in an accident and you have valid no-fault insurance in Michigan, you will be able to claim a wide variety of damages. You will be able to gain compensation for economic damages as well as non-economic damages such as the physical and emotional pain caused.
It is important that you take immediate action after a car accident to make a claim for the damages that you deserve.